Aldi Belgium HE180021 Balco 3D Printer Touch 12/2019

i am new to 3D printing so don’t know this info is useful or not.

20191211_1640251

20191211_1608001

20191211_1611401

main-board 5.1 with USB

20191211_1607151

Touch screen

20191211_1619221

I always like to have good photos of printers. Thanks a lot.

An excellent ‘before’ picture. Now time for you to start printing upgrades :slight_smile: I’d recommend the screen bezel and the DiiiCooler upgrades. Definately the Y axis upgrade too.

1 Like

Hello Troides, I couldn’t help but notice that your main board is ‘suffering’ from the same issue that I had originally. And that is that it is missing its timing crystal from the USB circuit (CH340G USB to UART Interface). The crystal is a critical component to ensure correct clocking/sync of your data stream through the USB port.
If you are not going to use that port then no real problem but I did and still do (I use Octopi) and had the main board replaced under warranty. If you are handy and steady with a soldering iron you can just source a crystal or 3 pin ceramic resonator 12Mhz and do the job yourself which I did with the original board and now have it as a spare :slight_smile:
EDIT: Now that I think about it you will need to use the USB port if you are flashing the firmware and I guess you will be as you are here!
My printer is an ALDI branded one as well and I just noticed that yours was made/assembled in Australia which is where I live. Interesting? I wonder if they had a batch of these boards that are missing that component? How many others are out there??? Again if the port is not being used then no one will notice… or care?
I’ve attached two images. One is how the board should look with crystal installed (red arrow) and the other is how my board was (yellow arrow), which is just like yours unfortunately.

Wanhao-main-board-to-Duplicator-i3-Plus-V5.1
Missing Crystal - my board